#TopTenTuesday: 10 of My Favorite Haunting/Creepy/Cozy Alt-Country & Folk Songs to Welcome Fall

I love making lists, and I love especially making playlists. My favorite season is fall, and my husband and I have a tradition of making and mailing fall mixtapes as part of our celebration of the Fall Equinox/Winter Finding.

Here are my Top 10 Favorite Haunting/Creepy/Cozy Alt-Country & Folk Songs to Welcome Fall. Give them a listen and recommend me some! If you want to take part in #TopTenTuesdays, head over to The Broke and Bookish.

r-2965544-1446012727-9927-jpeg

A beautiful bluegrass rendition of ‘Annabelle Lee.’

“We were children both
In this kingdom by the sea
But we loved with a love that was more than love
I and my Annabelle Lee
With a love that the winged angels high
Coveted her and me”

 

hellsbells

“I’ve been dreaming in foreign languages
I’ve been seeing in black and white
I’ve been tired and restless as a child
You know that my heart was always wild”

 

deadmansbonescover

This is Ryan Gosling’s band, and they’ve got a great sound.

“There’s something in the shadows
In the corner of your room
A dark heart is beating and waiting for you
There is no open window but the floors still creep
In the room where you sleep
In the room where you sleep, where you sleep”

 

meg_myers_make_a_shadow_cover_1425px

“My heart is fire, my heart is young
I’m only only in the only only in the in the shadows”

 

redhills

This Irish bluegrass band is my favorite. “Goldmine” is about an Old West prostitute with a heart of gold.

“O my heart
Will never be the same again
Not even in the arms of other men
Because an old time song with an old time feel
It was written for my heart to steal
Oh my love
I only wanna hear your voice
But I sell myself cause I have no choice
But for an old time song in an old time air
I paint my face and I curl my hair”

 

  • Wolf,” First Aid Kit

first-aid-kit

“Wolf mother, where you been?
You look so worn, so thin
You’re a taker, devil’s maker
Let me hear you sing, hey ya hey ya
Wolf father, at the door
You don’t smile anymore
You’re a drifter, shapeshifter
Let me see you run, hey ya hey ya”

 

  • Hex,” Neko Case

neko_case_-_the_tigers_have_spoken

One of Neko’s best covers. As always, her voice is haunting. I imagine it drifting across the bayou, or filtering in through the screen door.

“When you hear me calling your name in the night
Do you run to your window thinking a coyote might
Be howling
When you hear me knocking at your door again
Do you tell yourself it’s only the wind
That’s blowing
When you watch the sun sink down in the west
Do you tell yourself that the heart in your chest
Is still beating”

 

redhills

“I dream of a boat, empty as a grave
Coming night after night, coming wave after wave”

 

41yncg1c24l

One of my favorite 16 Horsepower songs. The imagery and poetry of their lyrics is what turned me onto alt-country in the first place.

“I told it fast an glad
The color of a slow drink
Or so they say
So they say by the light of day
Hidden ‘neath their wings
Of black, brown and grey”

 

  • Liza,” Wrinkle Neck Mules

2624da5e229daf469652f5e025599a45-838x768x1

A sinister love story, from the POV of a man who kidnaps the woman he loves. WNM is a Virginia-based band who really need more exposure.

“I dreamed we danced a waltz right up to the timberline
And tiptoed along the power wires
Your brown hair was trailing us half a mile behind
Oh Liza, I dreamed you were mine
You told your brother I was an evil man
And he came at me with a machete in his hand
But he never saw my pistol Lord and when he hit the ground
His eyes were shiny, silver and wild”
Leave a Reply

